University Center of the Mountains | HCTC

University Center of the Mountains

About Us:

The University Center of the Mountains (UCM), located in Room 119 in the First Federal Center on the Hazard Campus, is a dynamic consortium of postsecondary educational institutions bringing more bachelor's and master's degrees and educational opportunities close to home in southeastern Kentucky. The partnership will add other universities and colleges to deliver more advanced degrees based on student, employer and community demand.

The UCM service area is the Kentucky River Area Development District (KRADD) which serves the following eight counties: Perry, Breathitt, Knott, Letcher, Lee, Leslie, Owsley and Wolfe.

Since the UCM opened its doors in fall 2004, through the collaborative efforts of its partnering four-year institutions and the community college system, as of December 2019, 1,400+ degrees (bachelor’s and/or master’s) have been earned by eastern Kentuckians working through the UCM partners and student resources. In fall 2005, the UCM had 5 partners, 15 bachelor’s degrees and 1 master’s degree; today, the UCM has 12 partners and features 39 bachelor’s degrees, 35 master’s degrees and 7 doctoral degrees. 

The UCM provides increased access to bachelor's and master's degree programs for traditional and non-traditional students by hosting select programs closer to home. By offering local and flexible class options to Eastern Kentuckians, UCM's goal is to overcome geographic and financial challenges which have previously made it difficult to earn a post-secondary education. The partnership at UCM also strives towards efficient use of financial resources and human resources (while avoiding duplication of services) during increasingly difficult economic times. This efficiency is attained by utilizing shared administrative/staff resources, classrooms, meetings, and office spaces within the UCM facility at the Hazard campus of HCTC.

Hours of Operation:

The UCM faculty and staff are available during the listed hours of operation to assist with transfer needs. Additionally, UCM and its partners provide advisors and resources to guide individuals through considering a program/career path, applying for four-year college/university admission, applying for graduate school admission, and applying for scholarships. 

Monday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
**Open until 6:00 p.m. on 01/16/24, 01/30/24,02/27/24, 03/26/24, 04/09/24
Wednesday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
**Open until 6:00 p.m. on 01/17/24, 01/31/24, 02/28/24, 03/27/24, 04/10/24
Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

*To schedule an evening advising appointment or computer access for class work/proctored exams, please contact the UCM at 606-487-3182 or email: 

Partner Schools

University Websites


cumberland EKU Midway University KSU  
 Lindsey Wilson  KCTCS  Hazard Community & Technical College  Morehead State University  
 UKCERH  NKU  sullivan_university_ college_ of_pharmacy  EARU Logo