Presidential Committee named in search | HCTC

News Archive

Presidential Committee named in search

SEARCH committee signA presidential profile development committee has been selected to assist in the search for the next president of Hazard Community and Technical College (HCTC). The committee was chosen by HCTC Board Chair Pat Wooton and Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) President Jay Box.

The committee includes community leaders, representing key constituencies for the college, as well as its multiple service areas. Faculty and staff also comprise the committee, representing multiple disciplines, services and campuses.

Community members:
Pat Wooton, chair HCTC Board of Directors and committee lead, Mayor of Buckhorn
Susan Harley, president, Jackson Women s Club
Bill Weinberg, president/owner, Clean Gas, Inc.
Rhonda Brashear, chair, Hyden-Leslie County Chamber of Commerce
Vera Hopper, APRN, Kentucky Mountain Health Alliance, Inc.
Janice King, Hazard market president, Community Trust Bank, Inc.

HCTC representatives:
Elbert Hagans, student service specialist
Randy Bryant, professor, psychology
Dr. Deronda Mobelini, professor/director, University Center of the Mountains
Amy Wernette, professor, biology
Jama Griffie, dual credit coordinator, student ombudsman

The search process begins with the development of the presidential profile or key qualities expected of the next president. This work forms the basis for a national ad. The committee s work will continue into early spring, as the list of candidates is narrowed. In late March, the top three candidates will be invited to the college for interviews with faculty, staff, students and community members.

The HCTC Board of Directors ultimately recommends the preferred candidate to KCTCS President Box. The goal is to have the new president in place no later than June 1.

Dr. Stephen Greiner, president of HCTC since 2011, was named the new president of West Liberty University on Oct. 29. Dr. Juston Pate, provost at Maysville Community and Technical College, has been named interim president