Mountain Writing Project announces participants | HCTC

News Archive

Mountain Writing Project announces participants

Although many area schools are going to be in session well into June, local teachers are already planning to attend a three-week summer institute sponsored by the Mountain Writing Project. The Mountain Writing Project celebrates its 14th anniversary this summer, and well over 200 teachers have participated in a summer institute since 1997. The purpose of the summer institute is to provide intensive training in the teaching of writing and the use of writing in the classroom. Teachers are chosen through a selective admissions process, and besides the knowledge they gain, they also receive graduate credit and a stipend for participation.

Teachers selected for the June 14 through July 2 summer institute are: Tonya Bargo and Jennifer Day, Chavies Elementary in Perry County; Eric Elam, Campton Elementary in Wolfe County; Devin Eversole, AB Combs in Perry County; Misha Hall, Carr Creek Elementary in Knott County; Teresa Holland, Dennis Wooten Elementary in Perry County; Janie King, Betsy Layne Elementary in Floyd County; Shirley Maroudas, Belfry Middle School in Pike County; Mayla McKeehan, Knox Middle School in Knox County; Mitchell McWhorter, Jackson County High School; Ralph Napier, Rosspoint Elementary in Harlan County; Jane Parke, retired from Knott County Central High School; Stephanie Thomas, Rousseau Elementary in Breathitt County; Angela Tincher, Jackson County High School; Brenda Tincher, Jackson City Elementary in Breathitt County; Angela Watkins, Rousseau, Highland-Turner and Marie Roberts-Caney in Breathitt County; and Ben White, Wolfe County Middle School.

The Mountain Writing Project is a collaborative effort of Hazard Community and Technical College, Eastern Kentucky University, the Kentucky Department of Education, and the National Writing Project. The Director is Lisa Maggard, HCTC; the Summer Institute Co-Directors are Jerry Michael Combs, HCTC, and Sabrina Back, Morgan County Middle School; and the Technology Liaison is Gerald Brashear, Dennis Wooten Elementary in Perry County.