HCTC student Joseph Johnson named to Ky. Veterans Hall of Fame | HCTC

News Archive

HCTC student Joseph Johnson named to Ky. Veterans Hall of Fame

Joseph JohnsonJoseph Johnson of Hazard Community amp; Technical College is among the 12 students from the Kentucky Community and Technical College System honored at the second annual Kentucky Veterans Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Frankfort Convention Center on Sept. 26.

Johnson was born and raised in Hazard and grew up in a very patriotic family. Both of his grandfathers served in the military, one in the Navy, the other in the Army. He had two uncles in the Kentucky National Guard and one cousin in the Marines and one in the Air Force. "So, for me, the military was always a dream," he said. In 2010, he was a student at HCTC and couldn't decide on a major. Deciding to take a break from his studies, he joined the Army. After training, he was stationed at Fort Story, Virginia Beach, in the 368 Seaport Operations Company. While there, he was deployed to Morocco for a brief time for a training mission. He also spent 18 months on the 11th Transportation Battalion's Honor Guard, performing military honors for fallen service members, "a somber but moving experience." After three years, he felt it was time to come home to the mountains, so he and his wife returned to Hazard. He has reenrolled at HCTC, pursuing a degree in Criminal Justice. His goal is to be a parole officer. He currently work for the U.S. Postal Service and serve as Executive Pastor at Journey Christian Church.

The other students recognized at the induction ceremony were: John T. Kimpston, Ashland Community amp; Technical College; Delbert Hunter, Bluegrass Community amp; Technical College; Joshua Clemence, Gateway Community amp; Technical College; Lee Adamson, Henderson Community College; Gary Klemm, Hopkinsville Community College; Jennifer Crone, Jefferson Community amp; Technical College; Daniel Jones, Maysville Community amp; Technical College; Justin Yazza, Somerset Community College; Justin Potter, Southcentral Kentucky Community amp; Technical College; Rutland Vaughn Melton Sr., Southeast Kentucky Community amp; Technical College; and Nicholas Jagielo, West Kentucky Community amp; Technical College.