Awards presented at HCTC graduation | HCTC

News Archive

Awards presented at HCTC graduation

Hazard Community amp; Technical College honored outstanding students during Commencement on Saturday, May 14 at The Forum in the Hal Roger s Center.

The following awards were presented. Tina A. May of Leslie County, President s Award; Distinguished Scholars awards were presented to those with a perfect 4.0 grade average. They are, in the Associate of Arts, John Kolby Epperson of Perry County; Rodney Dale Pence of Lee County; Christine M. Wells of Leslie County.

Those Distinguished Scholars with Associate in Applied Science degrees honored are: Janet Rene Anderson of Owsley County; Bob B. Combs of Knott County; Caleb Combs of Perry County; Ricky D. Combs of Breathitt County; Michael D. Dunn of Perry County; Billy Michael Kiser of Letcher County; Cory Martin May of Leslie County; Tina A. May of Leslie County; Lesa McKinney of Owsley County; Michael D. Miles of Perry County; Uriah W. Nibbe of Howard Lake, NM; Donald Wesley Strong of Breathitt County.

Those receiving diplomas with a perfect 4.0 were Robert L. Booker of Jackson County, Craig Allen Smith of Knott County, Bobby Darrel Tolson of Perry County and James Edgar Walker of Perry County.

Academic achievement awards were presented to: Tammy Lou Nevarez of Perry County, Associate in Arts; Associate in Science; Donna K. Bowling of Perry County, Business Administration; Michael D. Miles of Perry County, Computer Aided Drafting amp; Design/Surveying; Mary Rose Fugate of Perry County, Cosmetology; Jacqueline Katrina Hurt of Perry County, Diagnostic Medical Sonography; Ricky D. Combs of Breathitt County, Electrical Technology; Curlin Lowell Williams, Jr. of Perry County, Heavy Equipment Operations; Andrea Dione Melton of Perry County, Human Services; Caleb Combs of Perry County, Information Technology; Serina Kaye Prater of Wolfe County, Medical Information Technology; Samantha Gail Roberts of Breathitt County, Nursing - Associate Degree Nursing; Mary Couch of Perry County, Nursing - Licensed Practical Nursing; Lindsey B. Hamilton of Leslie County, Physical Therapist Assistant; Tina A. May of Hyden, Professional Studio Artist - Bluegrass amp; Traditional Music; Ralph Martin Slone of Knott County, Radiography; Rhonda Church of Perry County, Surgical Technology.

A total of 822 students received 1,659 credentials this Spring which is a record number in the history of the college; associate in arts, associate in science, and associate in applied science degrees were awarded along with diplomas and certificates. These numbers represent all graduates for the 2010-2011 academic year -- those who graduated in August and December and those who graduated in May.

To learn more, check out the website at