Aviation agreement signed between UCM Partners EKU and HCTC | HCTC

News Archive

Aviation agreement signed between UCM Partners EKU and HCTC

signment agreement ceremonyThe University Center of the Mountains and Eastern Kentucky University officially signed papers today for a Bachelor s of Science degree in Aviation. Shown here, seated, from left, are: Thomas Erekson, EKU Dean of Business and Technology, Dr. Steve Greiner, Hazard Community and Technical College president, EKU President Dr. Michael T. Benson, Tim Ross, EKU Chair of Technology and Aviation. Standing, from left, are: Dr. Deronda Mobelini, UCM Director; Paul Collins, EKU Foundation board member; D. Ralph Gibbs, Director of Aviation and Chief Flight Instructor; Sherry Robinson, Executive Assistant to the Provost, Hazard Mayor Nan Gorman; Jeannie Trumbo, EKU Representative at UCM; and Nancy Collins, EKU Board of Regents.

An agreement was signed Monday, October 20 by University Center of the Mountains partners Eastern Kentucky University and Hazard Community and Technical College. The Bachelor s of Science in Aviation: Aerospace Technology Concentration goes into effect immediately, and students are encouraged to enroll for classes beginning in January. Through a three-step process, (three pronged partnership) this program allows students to take and combine courses from the regional airport, the community college and EKU in order to complete a bachelor s degree without leaving the region.

Aviation is one of our stellar programs, noted EKU President Dr. Michael T. Benson. Individuals in the region may have already met some technical class requirements through the Perry County s Wendell Ford Regional Airport flight school, earned as FAA certificates noted Dr. Deronda Mobelini, UCM director, or they have the option to do so through the Perry County airport or any other local airports approved flight school program. Then students would complete their remaining freshman/sophomore general education course work through HCTC, and transfer the FAA certificates through EKU s credit-by-examination process, back to HCTC to complete the AA degree. The newly signed articulation MOA allows students to fold the aviation oriented two-year degree into EKU s Bachelor s of Science in Aviation: Aerospace Technology Concentration. This program was developed in response to an upcoming national shortage of certified pilots, many of whom are retiring from the field due to industry age requirements.

As the only program of its kind in Kentucky, EKU Aviation provides the aerospace industry with the safest, best trained, and most adaptable pilots and managers. EKU s Bachelor of Science degree has concentrations in Professional Flight, Aerospace Management, or Aerospace Technology (AT). Besides a general aviation core, aviation students are required to take supporting courses in mathematics, statistics, physics, and business management. Graduates of the program are professionally prepared for all facets of the aerospace and aviation industry to include piloting, flight instruction, aviation management, and aerospace technology.

Jeannie Trumbo, EKU s Hazard Regional Coordinator, will provide EKU admission application and advising assistance. Dr. Deronda Mobelini will also be available to provide HCTC assistance. Both are housed in The University Center of the Mountains located in the Jolly Classroom Center. Anyone interested in classes can call HCTC (606) 487-3182 or EKU (606) 487-3209.

Dr. Benson said EKU has adopted the hash tag Wheels up for the program on Twitter.