COVID-19 Protocols for Students | HCTC

COVID-19 Protocols for Students

The coronavirus (COVID-19) has created significant health risks for some populations. In alignment with guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), the Governor of Kentucky and the State Health Department, the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) and Hazard Community and Technical College has developed and established safety protocols to assist in maintaining safe working and learning environments. These protocols outline additional precautions for student, employee, and community safety.

NOTE:  FOR THE PURPOSES OF KCTCS/HCTC PROTOCOLS IN THIS DOCUMENT, “RESTRICTION” MEANS TO STAY OFF CAMPUS OR OUT OF THE OFFICE FOR THE SPECIFIED PERIOD OF TIME.   While we advise you to follow state, local and federal quarantine guidelines, we have no authority over your actions while not on KCTCS property.

HCTC will be following the protocols listed below regarding restrictions.  These are always subject to change depending upon changes with COVID-19 or changes made by governing bodies. KCTCS has aligned isolation/restriction protocols with the KY Department of Public Health and the CDC.  Each college has the latitude from KCTCS to implement COVID protocols based on the positivity rate in their local area so our guidelines may be different than other colleges.


Students must be aware of and work with faculty, staff, and administration during these extraordinary times as required by the KCTCS Code of Student Conduct, Article III, Section 3, Standard 2.4, and the Appendix, entitled Crisis or Emergency Plans, Protocols, and Guidance.

Email the Healthy @ Work Officer, Vickie Combs at to report any incidents of positive COVID cases or exposure to someone who has tested positive for COVID.  

Restrictions for a COVID Positive Diagnosis

If you test positive for COVID, you will be restricted from on-site classes/work and campus activities for 10 days from your test date.  This is regardless of your vaccination status.  

Restrictions for a "close contact" exposure to someone who is diagnosed with COVID. "Close contact" is defined as spending 15 minutes or more with someone diagnosed with COVID within a 24-hour period.

Restrictions for "close contact" are dependent upon your vaccination status and if the person who has COVID lives in your household.  


  • If you are not “Up to date” with vaccinations and have close contact – you will be restricted away from campus for 5 days from contact.  On day 6, if you are not having symptoms and can present copies of a negative COVID test taken on day 5, you may return to campus.  You must remain away from campus until you present the negative test results or 10 days from contact has passed
  • If you are "Up to Date" and have close contact – you will not be restricted away from campus.
  • Regardless of vaccination status – if the positive person lives in your household, you will be restricted away from campus for 10 days from the infected individuals test date. 

Return to Campus

Before returning to campus, students/employees must complete and submit one of the following acceptable documents to the College’s Healthy at Work Officer:

Complete the Self-Certification Form emailed to them by the Healthy at Work Officer - This form may include an electronic signature and must be sent by the student using their email account.  You will select the condition which applies to your situation and certify by signature that you have completed that option: 

  • Certify that you are no longer experiencing symptoms associated with COVID-19 or similar in nature.
  • Certify that you have completed your period of self-isolation/restriction and gone 24 hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and COVID –19 symptoms have improved (for example, cough, shortness of breath).
  • Certify that you have been symptom-free for 10 days since symptoms first appeared and gone 24 hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and COVID –19 symptoms have improved (for example, cough, shortness of breath).
  • Certify that you have been restricted away from campus for the specified amount of time as directed by a college official and have not presented with any coronavirus symptoms.
  • Doctor's Certification verifying that the student sought medical attention and is not experiencing symptoms consistent with COVID-19; or
  • Local Health Department Documentation indicating the student tested positive and was given an end date for self-isolation period.

Accommodating Health Department Guidance

Your local public health authorities make the final decisions about how long quarantine should last, based on local conditions and needs. Follow the recommendations of your local public health department if you need to quarantine.